105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers (With Examples)

105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers (With Examples)

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Online Marketing Terms

In this article, let’s discuss 105 Online Marketing Terms for newbie marketers. In the online marketing industry, there are a number of terms used across multiple verticals like SEO SEM, SMM, Email marketing, Affiliate marketing, Content marketing, and more. Whatever the vertical that you are going to work on, these are most used common terms.

Before getting into the industry, it’s always better to understand the basic terms that online marketing people use. If you are a newbie, then this should be a super helpful glossary to get to know these 105 online marketing terms.

The terms here are given in the Alphabetical orderand spitted into 4 pages.

‘#’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

In this section let’s see the first 25 Online Marketing terms.

1. 3rd Party Tag

3rd Party Tag is a code snippet generated by a 3rd party ad server. It will be placed into the website or app to display the ad which is uploaded in the ad server. It also helps to track the impression and clicks of an ad.

Example

<ins class="dcmads" style="display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px">
data-dcm-placement="N7480.1664088DOUBLECLICK.NETTEST/B8299600.114131924"
data-dcm-rendering-mode="script"
data-dcm-https-only
data-dcm-resettable-device-id=''>
<script src="//www.googletagservices.com/dcm/dcmads.js">/script>
</ins>

‘A’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

2. Account

An ad account is a grouping of all ad activities. An ad account can have multiple campaigns. Some settings can be set up at account level and that will be replicated for all the campaigns which are under the specific account.

An account named 'Mobile Phones' will have multiple capaigns like 'Samsung', 'Realme', 'Nokia' and more.

3. Ad Exchange

An ad exchange is a digital marketplace that allows advertisers and publishers to buy and sell advertising space with a real-time auction. They’re the most used to sell display, video and mobile ad inventory.

Example

Google Ad Exchange
OpenX
AppNexus

4. Ad Network

An ad network is a platform that acts as a broker between publishers and advertisers. The main role of an ad network is getting ad slots from the publisher and matching with the advertiser’s needs. It is a great way to monetize the website.

Example

Google AdSense
Media.Net
BuySellAds

5. Ad Server

An ad server is an advertising technology tool used by publishers, advertisers, agencies, and ad networks to manage and serve digital marketing campaigns. Ad servers show the ads on websites and mobile apps.

Example

DoubleClick Campaign Manager
Ad Manager 360
Google Ads
Sizmek

6. Advertiser

Advertisers are the owner of a product or service. They approach publishers or agencies to promote their products on the website or mobile apps.

Example

Samsung
Microsoft
Nike

Also Read: Who is an advertiser?

7. Affiliate Marketing

Affiliate marketing is a type of online marketing strategy. It is the process of earning a commission by selling products or services of a company. As a content creator, you can earn in two ways. One is with affiliate networks and another one is with affiliate programs.

Example

Amazon affiliate network
SERrush affiliate program
Hostgator affiliate program

Know More: About affiliate marketing

8. Agency

An agency is 3rd party company which acts as a bridge between publishers and advertiser to fulfill their advertising needs by helping running campaigns.

Example

Ogilvy & Mather
McCann Worldgroup
Publicis Groupe

9. Alt Text

An alt text is an attribute of the <img> tag. It contains a text saying the name or actions of the image used.

Example

<img src="www.google.com/logo.png" alt="Google Logo"/>

10. Analytics

Analytics refers to the statistics of a website. It can be traffic and other stats. Basically, the statistics are recorded by web tools. To track the website statistics, a snippet of code needs to be installed on our website.

Example

Google Analytics
FoxMetrics
StatCounter
Google analytics, Website traffic Unique visitors, Bounce rate
Google analytics, Website traffic Unique visitors, Bounce rate

11. API (Application Program Interface)

APIs are a set of functions and procedures that helps the developer to create new applications that access data and features of other applications or services.

We can get the data by making an API call/request. The APIs will return results in different formats like JSON, XML, etc.,

Example

http://ip-api.com/json/

Suggested Article: How to find IP with IP Find API?

12. ATF (Above The Fold)

When the ad appears on the visible area of the device screen is known as ATF. Users should be able to see the ad without scrolling the page.

Example

728x90 (Leaderboard) ad will appear at the top of the website most of the time.
ATF - Above The Fold
ATF – Above The Fold

13. Audience

An audience are a group of people who are interested in your product or service. You can target your potential audience. So that your audience will become your customers. It helps to boost revenue and reach.

Example

Group o people interested in sports.

14. Awareness

Awareness is the process of making people aware of your product or service. In online marketing, it can be done by running paid advertising campaigns on social media, websites, video platforms, and more.

Example

Running awareness campaign for a new shoe.

You Might Be Interested In: Social Media Marketing Strategies

‘B’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

15. B2B (Business-to-Business)

B2B companies help between them directly by exchanging products or services instead of serving to the consumer.

Example

A software firm offers the CRM service to another company.

16. B2C (Business-to-Consumer)

A company offers or selling services or products directly to the consumer is known as the Business-to-Consumer business model. The products or services may be travel service, mobile phone selling, and more.

Example

Trivago
Amazon
Adidas

17. Backlink

Backlinks are linking one website to another website by a hyperlink. It helps to increase Domain Authority (DA) of a website. Search engines like Google help websites rank higher when a website has high DA.

Example

<a href="https://ahrefs.com/blog/what-are-backlinks/" target="_blank">Backlink</a>

18. Behavior

Behavior denotes the activity of the user on a website after arriving. The activity of a user can be tracked with the help of web analytic tools like Google Analytics. The activities such as search terms, sites visited, purchases made, and more.

Example

Exit page
Content viewed
Clicking on a specific element

19. Bidding

Bidding is an amount the advertiser is ready to spend to buy ad space to serve their ad. This process is mostly used in programmatic advertising.

Example

An advertiser spends $2 per click

20. Bounce Rate

The bounce rate is a metric in web analytics. It increases when a user opening the website and leaving immediately without any activities like reading the articles or navigating between the pages.

When the bounce rate is high for a website, it is considered to be the worst. It stays between 0% to 100%. A higher value indicates that the website is not doing a good job.

Example

0% - Good
100% - Worst
Google analytics, Website traffic Unique visitors, Bounce rate
Google analytics, Website traffic Unique visitors, Bounce rate

21. Breadcrumbs

A breadcrumb is a small text path located at the top of a page. It indicates where the user is on the site currently. The path mentioned is clickable and lets you to easily navigate.

Example

Home > Programming Language > PHP > For Loop

22. Broken Link

The broken link is an inactive link. Meaning, it is no longer available to access. Whenever you try accessing the link, it will direct you to a 404 error page. The link becomes the broken link when the structure of the URL is changed.

Example

https://knowonlinemarketing.com/test-page/

23. BTF (Below The Fold)

When the ad doesn’t appear on the visible area of the device screen is known as BTF. Users need to scroll the page to see the ad.

Example

Ads placed at the bottom of the website (Footer, Bottom sidebar)
BTF - Below The Fold
BTF – Below The Fold

24. Budget

The budget is the amount allocated to spend to run an advertising campaign. The campaign runs until the budget gets over within the set timeline.

Example

Budget: $1500.00
Duration: Aug 4 to Sep 4

You May Also Like: Free Digital Marketing Course by Google

‘C’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

25. CDN (Content Delivery Network)

CDN is a distributed platform of servers that helps to reduce the website load time by decreasing the physical distance between the actual server location and the user. The original server must respond to every user request if you are not using a CDN.

Example

Below are the CDN service providers, 
CloudFlare
MaxCDN
Akamai

26. Cookies

A cookie is a small piece of data sent from a website and stored on the user’s computer by the user’s web browser while the user is browsing.

Example

Login data
Surfing behavior
Settings

27. Campaign

Ad campaigns are a set of advertisements and it’s details like duration, budget, targeting, and more. It runs to deliver a message to the users about a product or service. At the end of the duration the ad campaigns to meet the business goals that were set initially.

Example

Duration: Aug 4 to Sep 4
Goal: Video views
Targeting: UK
Ad: Groceries

28. Chatbot

A chatbot is a setup on websites to assist or direct the visitors to perform an action like the purchase or give answers to their queries. It’s basically an automatic tool and it will collect leads as well. No human help is needed. Chatbots are usually placed at the bottom-right of the websites.

Tideo
Tawk.to
Crisp

You May Like: 15 Best Live Chat Affiliate Programs To Make Money

29. Click

A click is an advertising metric. It is an activity of clicking advertisements like banner ads, native ads, video ads, and more. It takes the user to the destination page (Landing page) when they click an ad.

Example

Clicking on a mobile phone ad, it will take the user to landing page where they can find configuration features, specification of the mobile.

30. CMS (Content Management System)

CMS is a platform/dashboard where you can control the appearance and look of your website. We can access the backend of the website as well. It allows users to do add additional features to the website or any modification can be done.

Example

WordPress
Joomla
Drupal
Magento

Recommended Article: WordPress 5.5 Highlights and Features (Infographic Included)

31. Competitor

Any person or company that deals with the same type of business that you do is know as a competitor. Such businesses will always have an eye on their competitor’s business strategy to understand their business models and keep developing their own.

Example

Amazon and Flipkart are competitors

32. Contextual Ads

Contextual ads are online advertisements that appear on the websites, mobile apps, or other mediums according to what kind of content a user is looking at. These are automated system ads.

Example

Showing Pizza ad on Cooking or Food related websites/content.
Contextual ads
Contextual ads

33. Conversion

It’s recorded as 1 conversion when a user clicks on an ad and purchases the product or service. A conversion pixel will be implemented to track the conversions. For instance, implementing the conversion pixel on the Thank you page. So that it will be tracked when user purchase and lands on the thank you page.

Example

Signups/Form submission
eBook download
100% video views

34. Copy Text

An advertisement message on the display banners, search ads, or video ads. That explains the user about the product and gives knowledge of the features, specifications, and more.

Example

'Grab your JavaScript course at 50% OFF now!' - This is a copy text for online course ad.

35. Content Writing

Content writing is an activity of creating new content for blogs, business websites, product descriptions, documentation, and more.

Example

Writing content on 'Blogging tips for beginners'

36. Cost Model

Cost models are the standard units to measure digital ad delivery. The cost models differ according to the type of ads such as display ads, search ads, video ads, and more.

Example

CPM (Cost Per Millie) - Display ads
CPC (Cost Per Click) - Search ads (This is applicable for display ads as well)
CPV (Cost Per View) - Video ads

Find Out More: Cost Model Explained

37. Crawler

crawler is a computer program that automatically searches for the content on the Web. Search engines use crawlers to browse the internet and build an index. This will be shown to the users as a search result on the search page.

Example

GoogleBot
Bingbot
BaiduSpider

38. Creative

The actual ad banner served on the websites and mobile apps which is visible to the user is known as creative. It can be static, animated, rich media.

300x250 static image

39. CSS (Cascading Style Sheet)

CSS is a style sheet language used to style (colour, font-size, height, position, etc.,) the HTML elements showing on the browser. It simply beautifies the webpage.

Example

div {
   width: 100px;
   height: 150px;
   background-color: #000000;
}

40. CTA (Call To Action)

CTA is one of the major elements in the display ads. This is to trigger/call the user to click on an ad to explore the landing page of the ad. CTA is a mandatory element for every display ad.

Example

Learn More
Signup Now
Get Started

41. CTR (Click Through Rate)

CTR is the ratio showing how often people who see your ad end up clicking it. Below is the formula for calculating CTR with clicks and impressions.

Example

CTR = Click / Impression
100/24000 = 0.42%

Related Read: What is Viral Marketing? Types, Advantages & Examples

‘D’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

42. Day Parting

Day Parting is an activity of setting the campaign to serve for a particular time duration in a day or particular days in a week. It increases campaign efficiency. You can use this in your campaigns if you run an offline business. So, you can set the campaign to serve only when the store is open.

Example

Running campaign from 10 AM to 9 PM
Running campaign from Monday to Friday

43. Data Visualization

Formatting or showcasing the raw data into an attractive and understandable manner. Campaign delivery reports need data visualization to understand campaign performance easily and visually.

Example

Creating visual data dashboard using Google Data Studio and Power BI

44. Delivery

Delivery represents the ongoing or running campaign and its stats. This is to say the campaign status and performance.

Example

Over delivery
Under delivery

45. DNS (Domain Name System)

DNS is a naming database in which internet domain names are located and translated into internet protocol (IP) addresses. The DNS maps the name people use to locate a website to the IP address that a computer uses to locate a website.

Example

Linking a domain to a specific IP address
Linking www.knowonlinemarketing.com to 252.35.64.88

46. Do Follow

Do follow links allow search engines like Google to follow and reach out to the website and gives link juice and a backlink.

Example

<a href=”https://www.google.com/”>Google</a>
or
<a href=”https://www.google.com/” rel="dofollow">Google</a>

Related Article: YOKdata – Encrypted and Decentralized Cloud Data Storage Built with Blockchain Technology

47. Domain Name

A domain name is used to identify one or more IP addresses. It is used to identify a particular web page.

Example

www.knowonlinemarketing.com

‘E’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

48. Engagement

Engagement is a metric in online marketing. It denotes the interaction of users with an advertisement. It shows how well it connects the ad with the audience.

Example

Facebook post like
Comment
Share

‘F’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

49. Floodlight Tag

Floodlight tag is an iframe or image code snippet that should be installed at the backend of the advertiser’s website to track the conversions. Whenever the user arrives at the particular page where the floodlight tag installed, the tag will fire and send the conversion data to the ad server like DCM.

Example

<img src="http://ad.doubleclick.net/activity/src=1234567;type=abcde123;cat=fghij456;u1=[friendlyname1];u2=[friendlyname2];ord=[Random Number]?" width="1" height="1" alt=""/>

50. Forecast

Forecasting is getting or predicting the approximate data for future use based on historical data. It can be found available impressions, total ad requests, and more.

Example

Planning future campaigns according to the forecast data

51. Frequency Cap

Frequency Cap is one of the ad delivery settings. It limits the number of times an ad should show to a user.

Example

Fequency Cap 3/day

‘G’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

52. Guest posting

Guest posting is the activity of creating content and posting it on other websites. This is one of the best link building strategy. When doing the guest post guest on high authority websites, the authority score gets increases and your website becomes SEO friendly. It drives more traffic to your website as well.

Example

Publishing content on any website with high authority.

Know More About: Guest posting.Guest blogging

‘H’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

53. HTML (Hyper Text Markup Language)

HTML is a standard markup language used to build websites. It refers to the way tags are used to define the page layout and elements within the web page.

Example

<html>
  <head>
    <title><title>
  </head>
  <body>
    <h1></h1>
    <div></div>
    <p></p>
  </body>
</html>

54. HTTPS (Hyper Text Transfer Protocol)

HTTPS is a web protocol that enables the data security of the website while data transfer. It gives SSL to the website.

Example

https://knowonlinemarketing.com/

‘I’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

55. Impression

The impression is an online marketing metric to calculate how many times an ad is served to people. When a page loads, each ad on the page counts 1 impression.

Example

When an ad shown 1000 times, then it's 1000 impressions

56. Infographics

Infographics is a collection of images, charts to understand a concept better. It comes with very minimal text. It includes title, subheading, icons, graphics, and more to highlight the informative stats.

Example

Explaining the growth of online marketing year-by-year using bar chart.

57. Internal Linking

Internal linking is the process of linking a post or page of your website on the same website. It is one of the important SEO strategies. It helps to make the user stay on your website.

Example

<a href="https://knowonlinemarketing.com/about-us/">Know Online Marketing</a>

Suggested Article: Create Your First-Ever WordPress Shortcode

58. IO (Insertion Order)

IO is a document that contains a set of line items that are related to the digital advertising campaign.

Example

IO contains the below,
Frequency caps
Pacing,
Partner costs

59. Interstitial

Interstitial is one of the display ad formats that appear on mobile devices. It appears on the screen covering the content. It comes with a close button so that users can close the ad.

Example

Ads appearing on mobile apps with close button.

‘K’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

60. Keyword

In SEO, a keyword is a topic or idea that defines what the content is about. Content is created focusing on the keywords. They make it easier for search engines to rank your website in search results.

Example

best wordpress theme
top mobile apps
types of ad networks

‘L’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

61. Landing Page

When the visitor lands/directs to a page after clicking on an advertisement is known as a Landing page. It is just a web page within a website.

Example

https://knowonlinemarketing.com/10-useful-tips-to-get-google-adsense-approval-fast/

62. Lead Generation

Lead generation is a marketing strategy. It is the process of collecting user details to approach them to sell products/services or to speak business opportunities. Every lead is considered as a potential customer.

Example

Name
Email ID
Website
Mobile number

63. Lightbox

Lightbox is a type of display advertisement which appears on the whole page covering the content. It’s a kind of overlay. The content can be accessed only after closing the ad.

Example

A lead generation form
eBook download popup

64. Line Item

By creating a line item, you instruct the ad server to serve an ad on a certain placement or through ad networks or ad exchanges. A line item consists of creatives, bid, budget, targeting, performance goal, and more.

Example

An ad served on home page of a website by the line item

65. Lookalike Audiences

A Lookalike Audience refers to the new people who are likely to be interested in your product or service. Because they are similar to your existing customers.

Example

People interested in your business as they show same interest like your current customers

You May Like It: How to Display Random Affiliate Banner Ads Without Plugin?

‘M’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

66. Macro

Macro is a set of actions that can be recorded and can be executed multiple times in the excel sheet. It is mainly used to automate the routine process like sending daily delivery reports to the client. The actions will be recorded in the form of VBA code. It can be customized even further by editing/modifying the VBA code.

Example

Sub HideAllExceptActiveSheet()
Dim ws As Worksheet
For Each ws In ThisWorkbook.Worksheets
If ws.Name <> ActiveSheet.Name Then ws.Visible = xlSheetHidden
Next ws
End Sub

67. Meta Description

The meta description gives a quick description of a web page what content the page has. It plays a major role in search engine rankings. The length of the meta description is 160 characters.

Example

If a page is talking about the SEO, the meta description should have a quick description and the keywords should be included as well.

68. Meta Title

The meta title is the actual title of a page or blog post. It will show on the Google search page when people searching for content. The character limit is 60. The meta description appears below the meta title.

Example

OFF-Page SEO techniques for new website

69. Mobile Friendly or Responsive

Mobile friendly or mobile responsive refers to the website with well fit and proper layout on mobile devices. The content of the website will automatically be adapted according to the device width. Basically the website with non-mobile responsive will appear the same on both desktop and mobile.

Example

Mobile Friendly or Responsive website

‘N’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

70. Negative Keyword

Negative keywords are the irrelevant keywords or phrases that prevent your search ads from being triggered when users search with these words or phrases. Getting clicks with the negative keywords will not add any value to the business.

Example

Your ad will not be triggered when the uses search with the keyword 'Free online course'. This helps when you offer only paid courses.

You May Like It: 10 Useful Tips to Get Google AdSense Approval Fast

71. Niche

Niche is a specific topic, area, or category. This is to understand what kind of content a website or blog has. Talking specifically within a particular niche is known as micro-niche.

Example

Technology
Sports
Electronics 
Marketing

72. No Follow

No follow links don’t allow search engines like Google to follow and helps in page rank the website. It doesn’t give link juice and a backlink. It will not increase the domain authority (DA) as well.

Example

<a href=”https://www.google.com/” rel="nofollow">Google</a>

73. No Index

No index is to instruct Google not to index a particular page in the search results. It’s is to be used in the meta tag of a page.

Example

<meta name="robots" content="noindex"/>

‘O’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

74. Objective

The objective is the goal or motto of an advertising campaign. Every campaign setup with an expected result to get for an objective.

Example

Traffic
Click
Video views
Conversion

75. Off-Page SEO

Off-Page SEO is an SEO activity to optimize the website to rank higher on Google. The activities are done out of the website. It is mainly to earn quality backlinks from high Domain authority websites.

Example

Link building
Social bookmarking
Guest posting
Commenting

Further Read: Off-Page SEO Explained

76. On-Page SEO

On-Page SEO is an SEO activity to optimize the website to rank higher on Google. The activities are done on the actual website.

Example

Publishing high quality content
Optimize page titles and meta descriptions
Internal and external links
Image optimization

Further Read: On-Page SEO Explained

77. Organic Search

Organic search refers to optimizing the website to rank on Google without paying anything, unlike Google paid search ads. This takes time to see the results.

Example

Ranking the website by making the website SEO friendly.

78. Outbound links

Outbound links are the links of other websites that used on your website. It is one of the most important factors in SEO. It will act as a backlink for the website where you are linking to.

Example

<a href="https://www.w3schools.com/" target="_blank">W3Schools</a>

‘P’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

79. Paid Search

Paid search refers to ranking the website on Google by paying, unlike Google’s organic search. This method gives immediate results.

Example

Paying certain amount to Google to appear on the top of the search results page

80. Penalty

The penalty is a negative impact on a website. Usually, Google penalizes the websites for violating the policies. The website performance and traffic drop suddenly due to this.

Example

Keyword stuffing in SEO
Publishing content on weapons, gambling, drugs, etc.,

81. Placement

Placements denote a place where your creatives can appear on a website or blog. The placements will be targeted through the advertising campaigns to serve the ads. Random creatives will serve on a single placement for every refresh.

Example

Website header ad placement
Top sidebar ad placement
In-Article ad placement

82. Publisher

The publisher is the owner of the website or mobile app. They sell the inventory on their website or mobile app to advertisers or agencies to place the advertisements. Publishers make money from this.

Example

KnowOnlineMarketing.com
W3Schools.com
Search Engine Journal

Suggested Read: Who is publisher?

‘Q’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

83. Quality Score

Quality score is a rating of a paid ad, keywords, landing pages, and more. Google grades the quality score from 1 to 10. The quality score from 8 to 10 is considered a very good quality score.

Example

8/10
6/10

‘R’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

84. Ranking

Ranking refers to the actual position of the website that appears on the search engine results page. Google ranks strong SEO friendly websites at the top. Effective SEO strategies and quality content play a major role in better ranking.

Example

Website appears at the position 1 when user search

85. Remarketing

Remarketing is an online advertising strategy. It is the process showing the most relevant ads to the particular user who visited your website or added the product to the cart but hasn’t purchased it. It increases conversions and revenue.

Example

If a user added a mobile phone to their card and abandoned, you can target the user show the mobile phone ads.

Random Article: Namecheap Logo Maker

86. Reporting

Reporting is a stats of the campaign such as impressions, clicks, CTR, etc., These are put together in a clear format to analyze the campaign performance. The reports can be generated from the server in multiple formats like xlsx, csv, ppt, pdf, and more.

Example

Generating conversions report of a campaign to find how many conversions the campaign has made.

87. Rich Media Ad

Rich Media is an advertising format that has attractive animation and interactive elements such as audio, video, graphics, and others. It engages with the user more.

Example

A creative with video on it explaining the product features

88. Robots.txt

Robots.txt is a text file that tells the search engine to crawl or block certain pages. So that the allowed pages will appear on the search results and the blocked pages are not. The Robots.txt file is to be uploaded into the root directory of your website.

Example

User-agent: *
Allow: /
Allow: /ads.txt
Disallow: /wp-admin/
Disallow: /wp-login.php/

89. ROI (Return on Investment)

ROI is a performance measure. It is the ratio between the profit you get and the investment. The higher the ROI, the more the revenue you get. It can be calculated with the formula – ROI = Profit / Investment.

Example

ROI - 10500/8000 = 31.25%

‘S’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

90. Search Query

Search Query is the words or phrases used by the user to find information in Google.

Example

what are the seo tactics?
how to build a wordpress blog?
best plagiarism tool for bloggers

91. SERP (Search Engine Result Page)

SERP is the page where the search results appear when a user searches for information in search engines like Google. 10 search results will be displayed per page. However, you can change the search settings to display more results (up to 100 results) per page.

Example

Google search results page

92. Session

The session is the period of time a user is active on your website or mobile app. In general, 30 minutes of duration is calculated as 1 session. If a user leaves your site and comes back within 30 minutes, it will be considered as the original session.

Example

When you login to internet banking, you will be logged out automatically if there;re no activities.

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93. Sitemap

A sitemap is an XML or HTML file that contains all the URLs of a website. It can be uploaded into the root directory of the website. The XML format is only understandable by the search engines and HTML can be seen and understood format by the human. An XML sitemap helps search engines to crawl your website.

Example

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<sitemapindex xmlns="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9">
   <sitemap>
      <loc>http://www.example.com/sitemap1.xml.gz</loc>
      <lastmod>2004-10-01T18:23:17+00:00</lastmod>
   </sitemap>
   <sitemap>
      <loc>http://www.example.com/sitemap2.xml.gz</loc>
      <lastmod>2005-01-01</lastmod>
   </sitemap>
</sitemapindex>

94. Slug

A slug is the part of a website URL that identifies a particular page on a website. It is in easy to read format. Having good and clear slug for your post or page will help you in SEO improvement.

Example

105-online-marketing-terms-for-newbie-marketers-with-examples

95. SSL (Secure Socket Layer)

SSL is used to establish a secure connection between the web server and the browser. It encrypts and protects sensitive data such as login credentials, bank account details, credit card numbers, etc., while processing. It helps to be secure from the harmful attacks on the website. The https denotes that the website installed with the SSL certificate and secured.

Example

https://knowonlinemarketing.com/

96. Structured Snippet

Structured snippets are extensions that help to highlight certain aspects of their products and services such as offers, features, coupons, and more in the search results page.

Example

Latest Shoes
Shows under $100

Article For You: Types of Online Marketing

‘T’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

97. Targeting

Targeting is an activity of setting up the advertising campaigns to show the ads only to a particular set of audiences. It can be geographic, language, demographic (age, gender), device, contextual, behavioral, and more. It helps the advertisers to reach the best suit audience for their business.

Example

Geography: United Kingdom
Language: English
Demographic: Female/25 to 55
Device: Desktop and Mobile
Contextual: Cooking
Behavior: Cooking

98. Thank-You Page

Thank you page is where the user will be directed after making a successful transaction for a product or service from a website. It has product or service details, purchase ID, and more. The conversion pixel will be implemented on to the thank you page to track the conversions.

Example

https://example.com/thank-you/
Thank you page example

99. Traffic

Traffic is the number of users visits your website to access your content. More the traffic you get more the benefit you get. Effective SEO implementations are required to get good traffic to your website. The amount of traffic can be recorded with the tool of Google Analytics.

Example

Getting 10K visitors per month

Recommended Article: 9 Effective Ways to Generate Massive Traffic to Your Blog (Organic Strategies)

‘U’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

100. Unique Visitor

Unique Visitor refers to the number of new visitors coming to your website in a given time interval. If the visitor leaves the page and comes after some time on the same IP, the visitor will not be considered as a unique visitor. The unique visitor can visit multiple pages. The data is recorded on the basis of cookies.

Example

7.5K unique visitors per month
Google analytics, Website traffic Unique visitors, Bounce rate
Google analytics, Website traffic Unique visitors, Bounce rate

101. UTM Tracking (Urchin Tracking Module)

UTM Tracking is a campaign tracking technique. It is tracked by passing certain parameters such as source, medium, campaign, term, content at the end of the links that you want to track. UTM tracking helps to understand where the traffic to the website coming from. It also used to track the ad clicks. Before start tracking, you should have an account in Google Analytics.

Example

Traffic to a page can be tracked by using UTM tracking code as shown below,
https://knowonlinemarketing.com/?utm_source=kom-blog&utm_medium=105-marketing-terms-post&utm_campaign=utm-builder&utm_term=tracking-example&utm_content=tracking

‘V’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

102. VAST Tag (Video Ad-Serving Template)

VAST Tag is an XML script developed by IAB (Interactive Advertising Bureau). It establishes a communication link between the ad server and the video player. This is the most popular video ad standard.

Example

https://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads?sz=640x480&iu=/124319096/external/single_ad_samples&ciu_szs=300x250&impl=s&gdfp_req=1&env=vp&output=vast&unviewed_position_start=1&cust_params=deployment%3Ddevsite%26sample_ct%3Dskippablelinear&correlator=

‘W’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

103. Web Hosting

Web Hosting is storing the website files in the allocated cloud storage. The hosted files will then be linked to the respective domain name using the DNS. So that the website can be accessed with the domain name from anywhere in the world.

Example

Below are some of the web hosting providers in the market,
Blouehost
Siteground
Hostinger

104. WordPress

WordPress is a Content Management Platform (CMS) that manages the website files. It helps the user to build the website with drag-drop plugins without any knowledge of programming language. WordPress is the most used CMS and 30% of the websites using WordPress in the world. Basically it’s a one-click install application.

Example

Our blog is built with WordPress,
https://knowonlinemarketing.com/

Related Article: WordPress 5.5 Highlights and Features (Infographic Included)

‘X’ – 105 Online Marketing Terms For Newbie Marketers

105. XML (Extensible Markup Language)

XML is a markup language used to store structured data and transport in an XML file. This is a self-descriptive. So that custom tags can be created.

Example

<blog>
  <title>Know Online Marketing</title>
  <tagline>Let's Learn Digital</tagline>
  <link>www.knowonlinemarketing.cohtsm</link>
</email>

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Final thoughts

To sum up, we hope the above 105 online marketing terms for newbie marketers are useful. These are the most common and important terms you should know as a newbie. These terms will help you pick the things quickly when you start working on any marketing vertical. We keep updating/adding the terms at regular intervals. So that you can refer to this glossary and stay updated.

We know that still a lot to include, If you think that we missed any term that is something important, just write to us at admin@knowonlinemarketing.com or comment on the terms. We would love to add.

Image Credits:
  • getresponse.com
  • developers.google.com
  • pixabay.com

About the author

Kavinkumar Subramani

Kavinkumar Subramani

Digital-Tech Blogger

Kavin is a passionate blogger from Know Online Marketing. He publishes insightful and value-added articles and infographics on online marketing, blogging, WordPress, hosting and domain, web design/development, digital tools, online courses, and more.


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